How to

How to Delete Snapchat Account? Simple Methods

How to Delete Snap Account? You might want to delete your Snapchat account for multiple reasons. Many were annoyed by its recent redesign. Others were slighted by its jokes about domestic violence or the self-image it promoted. Add certain security concerns, and uninstalling Snapchat might seem like a wise idea.

Like any social network, it can also become a distraction and a threat to your online privacy, which might make you want to deactivate Snapchat.

Today, Snapchat was shown to be a greater potential privacy threat than we previously thought. Snapchat has an internal app called SnapLion that was designed to access private device data in response to law enforcement requests. This has everything from location data and saved photos (Snaps) to private contact information.

Former employees have reported that the app has been manipulated by employees to access private data for personal reasons numerous times. Not only has it been distributed to other departments to use for other reasons beyond law enforcement, but there have also been happenings when employees have used SnapLion to access users’ saved photos or contact information.

If you’ve chosen to delete your Snapchat account, here’s how:

How to delete your Snapchat account on the computer

  • From Account settings, tap on My Account and Security.
  • Press Account Security, Delete My Account, and Accounts Portal.
  • Insert your Snapchat account details to log in.
  • Insert your username and password, then press Continue.

After your Snapchat account is deactivated, you even have 30 days to reactivate your account. To do so, just log back into the Snapchat application with your username and password within these 30 days. You have to be stoic as it sometimes takes up to 24 hours to reactivate an account along with all of your account information if you deactivate Snapchat.

how to delete a snap account
how to delete a snap account

How to delete a Snapchat account on your iPhone or Android

  • Open the Snapchat app.
  • Click on avatar in the top left corner.
  • Press on the gear icon in the topmost right corner.
  • Scroll down to the Support heading and click on I Need Help.
  • You’ll now be taken to Snapchat’s support page. There is a search bar at the topmost of the page. Insert in ‘Delete’ and select the first option that appears, it should be Delete my account. Press it to delete your account.
  • Click the Accounts Portal link in the text and follow.
  • Now you’re at the Snapchat account deletion page. Just type in your username and password, and your account will be put into the 30-day recovery period. Simply touch log in again and your account should be deleted a month later.

How to permanently delete Snapchat

Once your Snapchat account deletion procedure has started, your Snapchat account will be completely invisible to all of your connections. In order to permanently delete your Snapchat account, all you have to do is refrain from logging into the app for 30 days after you deactivate your Snapchat account. After this period, your Snapchat account will be mostly gone, but not fully. Snapchat’s privacy guidelines state that they keep some personal data due to legal, security, and business needs. This includes information about your purchases and the accepted terms of service.

Be sure you like to continue deleting your Snapchat account. If you bypass the 30-day recovery period, everything associated with your account will be lost forever. Contacts, memories, friends, stories, and any old shared places or other virtual signposts will vanish if you delete your account.

What kind of details does Snapchat store about me, according to the Snapchat privacy policy?

Snapchat stores three types of information:

  • Details you choose to give (all the info you enter into the app while using it).
  • Details obtained when you use Snapchat (information from your device, location, logs, etc.).
  • Information obtained from third parties (info from advertisers, other users’ contact lists, information from linked third-party apps).

It can share this information with other users, sister companies, business partners, or concerned parties when required by law. It also utilizes it for internal purposes (e.g., ad-targeting). You can also download your data or revoke permission to use it at the expense of specific functions.

Not only is Snapchat not a private medium, but it is also not secure. Snapchat does not use end-to-end encryption.

How to Reactivate Your Snapchat Account

If you change your mind about deleting your Snapchat account, you can always reactivate it, delivered you do it within 30-days of deactivating it. To reactivate it, all you have to do is sign in to your Snapchat account using your username (not your email address) and your password.

If you recently deactivated your account and are trying to reactivate it, you might need to wait a short while until the deactivation process is complete, which could take up to 24 hours (according to Snapchat).

If you confirmed your email address on your account, you should receive an email notifying you when your account has been successfully deactivated. Once you accept this, you can go ahead and sign in to your account to reactivate it.

Why Deactivate or Delete a Snapchat Account?

You might like to deactivate, then delete your Snapchat account if:

  • You no longer snap or chat with buddies, open snaps or chats from friends, post stories, or view friends’ stories.
  • You want to change your Snapchat username.
  • You have too many friends and prefer to start over with a fresh account, rather than going through them all and deleting them.
  • You want to quit utilizing Snapchat due to loss of interest, unpleasant experiences, a long-term digital detox, a change in priorities, etc.

Leave a Comment