How to Delete a Telegram Account on iOS, Android, and PC

56
how to delete Telegram account

Are you unsatisfied with Telegram services and searching for a way to delete your Telegram account? In the ever-evolving digital landscape, sometimes it is important to say goodbye to an app if you do not feel secure or you don’t find anything useful in it.

In this blog post, we have shared the complete step-by-step guide on how to delete a Telegram account on mobile devices or PCs. So, without further delay, let’s dive in!

Remember these things before Deleting your Telegram Account

  • Loss of messages and media: When you delete your Telegram account, all your data, including chats, groups, channels, contacts, media, and even the files saved in the cloud, will be permanently deleted.
  • The account cannot be reactivated: After you delete an account, it is permanently deleted, and you can’t access this account anymore. Be double-sure whether you want to delete the account.
  • Re-signing in won’t restore the account: Signing into the deleted account with the same phone number won’t restore the account. Instead, a new account will be created with your same phone number.

How to Delete a Telegram Account on iOS Device

delete telegram account on iPhone

Below, we mentioned the steps to delete a Telegram account on iPhone:

  • Open the Telegram application on your Apple device and tap on the 3-line menu button.
  • Click the settings option and then Privacy and Security.
  • Scroll down, navigate, and click If away for the option.
  • Tap on Delete Account now and continue to confirm the prompt.
Note: The Telegram app for iPhone enables users to immediately delete their account, which also permanently deletes all chats, media, and contacts.

How to Delete a Telegram Account on an Android Mobile Device

delete telegram account on Android

The Telegram Android application does not provide any direct route to delete an account. Alternatively, users will have to pick an option that automatically deletes their account after a certain period. Follow these steps to delete a Telegram account after a certain period.

  • Open the Telegram application on an Android device and click on the 3-line menu.
  • Over here, tap on Settings and choose the Privacy and Security option.
  • Scroll down and tap If Away for the option.
  • Now mark the time frame after which your account will be deleted permanently.
  • You can choose an auto-deletion period from 1 month to 1 year. After doing this, if you do not activate your Telegram account for the time frame selected, Telegram will permanently delete your account.

How to Delete a Telegram Account on a PC

Telegram for Desktop provides a hassle-free solution to delete an account via any web browser. Follow the below-mentioned steps to delete your Telegram account on the spot.

delete telegram account on pc
  • Add the mobile number using which your Telegram account was created.
  • Type the country code before entering your mobile number, and then tap on Next.
  • Now, you will receive an alphanumeric code on the Telegram mobile app.
  • Enter the alphanumeric code to log in to your Telegram account. Do not wait for any SMS code to move forward.
delete telegram account on PC 2nd step
  • From the Telegram Core part, hit the Delete Account option.
  • Telegram wants to know the reason why you are deleting the account.
  • Answering this question is optional. After that, hit the Delete My Account button.
delete telegram account on Pc final step
  • The app will ask you once again if you want to delete your Telegram account. If you still want to move ahead, tap yes; delete my account to end your connection with Telegram.

How to Export Data Before Deleting Telegram Account

Export data

Telegram does not offer you to shut down your account temporarily. Once you delete, you cannot undo the action and restore your account or read your old chats by just signing back in.

Fortunately, Telegram introduces an export option on its desktop clients in case there are any conversations you would like to save for the future.

To use this feature, install the Telegram app on your mobile device and computer and log in with your account credentials. Then follow these below-mentioned steps:

  • Click the three bars in the upper-right corner to uncover the navigation menu and select settings.
  • Now, tap on Advanced and scroll down until you find the Export Telegram Data option. Select the type of data you would like to export by marking the appropriate checkboxes. You can also set the size limit for files that go into the exported data and choose the download format either JSON or HTML.
  • Tap Export. Depending on the size of your data file, Telegram will finish the export in a few minutes. Click Show My Data to preview the file.

Common Reasons Why People Want to Delete Telegram Account?

Many people are concerned about whether Telegram is safe for communication. You might have joined Telegram as a privacy-focused messenger app. It is a solid messaging application with mind-blowing features. Though the platform provides many advanced functionalities, here are some reasons why you would wish to go forward with the delete Telegram account procedure.

  • Telegram users have often faced security issues while using the app. It is because of hackers and metadata leaks. Due to these concerns, Telegram has been considered unsafe by users. Users, thus, decide to delete their Telegram account on Android or iPhone.
  • Many users prefer the Telegram Android account deletion process as it allows anyone to delete chats. The platform does not inform users about it, hence giving members less authority over their conversations. This is why many users delete their Telegram accounts through their devices.
  • Many users decided to end their association with Telegram as it relies on MTProto. This protocol is considered unsecured for messaging. Many users switch to other social media apps like Signal, WhatsApp, and Discord for a more secure and transparent structure.

FAQs

Q. Can I temporarily deactivate my Telegram account?
No, Telegram does not offer any option to delete an account temporarily. However, if you want a temporary break, you can uninstall the Telegram app from your phone or PC and reinstall it when you want it.

Q. What happens when I delete my Telegram account?
Deleting your Telegram account is permanent and changeless. You will lose all your messages and media if you have not saved them elsewere.

Wrap Up

Telegram is an efficient messaging platform that is available across a host of platforms. However, if you have decided to leave Telegram, this guide on how to delete a Telegram account will help you deactivate your account and save your precious data locally on your computer.